Serving Seattle, Tacoma, Portland, and intermediate points

Amtrak train numbers: 198 and 199, then 797 and 798

Predecessor railroad train numbers: See Mount Rainier

A nondescript train on the Seattle-Portland corridor, the Puget Sound was the Mount Rainier's sister train on that route from the beginning of Amtrak in 1971 until the Pioneer began running between Seattle, Portland, and Ogden in 1979. The Puget Sound was discontinued, but the new Pioneer meant there was still the same service frequency, three trains daily between Seattle and Portland.

Condensed historical timetables:

   READ DOWN                      READ UP
(1972)  (1975)                (1975)  (1972)
 8:30A   8:30A Dp Seattle  Ar 11:50A  12:45P
 9:20A   9:28A    Tacoma      10:50A  11:50A
12:15P  12:15P Ar Portland Dp  8:00A   9:00A

The Amtrak Train Names Project