One of the four modern provinces of Ireland. Consists of the following counties in the southwest region:

The other three provinces are Ulster, Connacht and Leinster. The historic province of Tara has been subsumed into Leinster.

Munster's all-conquering provincial rugby team currently make up most of Ireland's international side. Last year they reached the final of the Heineken European Rugby Cup, and at the time of writing are through to the semi-finals of the 2001 tournament.