Myanmar and Burma are not in fact different names, but the classical and modern pronunciations of the same word. The English term "Burma" might be more accurately written "Bamaa", this being how "Myanmar" is now pronounced. The Burmese language, now officially also called Myanmar, is known in itself as Bamaa-zagaa.

The capital is Yangon, formerly spelt Rangoon.

The currency is the kyat, pronounced "cha".