Usenet Big 8 hierarchy derives from the original collection of newsgroups from the early days of Usenet. Most Usenet sites carry all of the newsgroups in Usenet Big 8.

Currently the groups distributed worldwide are divided into eight broad classifications with a total of about 2000 newsgroups:

  1. comp hierarchy
  2. humanities hierarchy
  3. misc hierarchy
  4. news hierarchy
  5. rec hierarchy
  6. sci hierarchy
  7. soc hierarchy
  8. talk hierarchy

See also: newsgroups hierarchies alt hierarchy


Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.